What are the essential items that you should have in the footer of your wordpress.com blog post?

IF you navigate through the blogosphere you will realize that the vast majority of the blogs lack a footer. Even when they have one you will just find a copyright message there.

Excerpt from dailyblogtips

So, what should you have in your blog post footer? The above link recommends two things. A link to the home page and a link to the RSS feed. Not bad. The commenters have supplied with other worthwhile ideas. For example, a replica of the header and an anchor tag that takes you to the “Top”.

Are you aware that footer text is important for SEO? In SEO, footer text carries some importance.As much as the link density on that page. [...] – Make sure that the last and the first thing a crawler sees is the most important thing to you. [...] what you should be bothered about are the following things.
– Is your keyword present in your footer text?
– Is there a link with your keyword?
– Is there the right keyword density within your footer text?
– Is it clear and evident to your human visitors?
– Does it look spammy?

From dailyseoblog

Skellie discussed what (not) to put in the footer of the blog post in order to remove clutter. Here are some of the suggestions that I liked:

- Put blog directory buttons and links in your footer. Blog directories are of much more use to bloggers than they are to readers.

- Remove as much non-link text as possible from your post-footer. The function of a post-footer is to display tags (if necessary), a comment link, a social bookmarking button or two, and the date and author (if not already displayed at the top of the post). There is no reason to write a long preamble to these elements — it only makes the important stuff harder to get to.

- Remove ‘Add to Technorati favorites’ buttons from posts. One link on the sidebar is enough. A link there also makes more sense because you are adding the blog as a whole, not the individual post.

- Cut down the number of social bookmarking buttons visible at once. With twenty buttons at the bottom of every post the important ones are likely to get lost in the clutter. Use a drop-down menu or a service like AddThis which takes you to a separate page with plenty of options.

From Skelliewag

What does Lorelle say about blog footers?

Really, it’s up to your imagination what you can include in your footer.

And this is what the footer of Lorelle’s post on blog footer looks like: A sample post from Lorelle\'s blog Dissfunctional copies numerous Feedflare links. She also uses the Headline Animator as created by Feedburner – at the bottom of each post. Personally I think, it’s a great way to offer RSS subscriptions to readers in this way – animated, smart, compact and eye-catching.

Subscribe to Netty gritty

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

***

Two different types of blog post footer items

Okay, it seems to me that the blog post footer basically has two types of items.

1. Blog post specific

The items that belong to this category are Related Links, social bookmarking icons etc.

1. Blog specific

An RSS subscription button, your signature, etc.

***

My favourite blog post footer items

1. Blog-post specific

-Related posts (it helps to lure readers to stay on your blog just a little longer).

-One social bookmarking button (that deals with multiple social bookmarking sites) – like, Addthis or Socialmarker.

-An “Email this” button

-A Sphere: Related Content link. It helps readers find related content specific to a blog post.

2. Blog specific

- A nice and attractive RSS Subscription button

- A “Get Email Updates” button

- A signature

- A “Rate my blog” button

- A “Vote for my blog” button

- Link to the “Contact the author” page

- Link to your home page

- Link to your Tag Cloud page

- A copyright notice, possibly linked to a Creative Commons lisence.

Looks like I have a lot of work to do. You see, blog post footers are a recent fascination of mine and I haven’t prepared one as yet. Why don’t you do me a favour? Please share with me your thoughts on must-have footer items for blog posts.

Sharing is Caring! :D

7 thoughts on “What are the essential items that you should have in the footer of your wordpress.com blog post?

  1. hey you! glad to see you at it again, love this blog!!

    I started adding those multiple items at the end of blog posts in reponse to a question at the forum. Someone wanted to know how to add “sphere” to their blog. I added Sphere to one of the posts, told them how to do it in the forum, and have been adding a bunch of fun flares ever since. Love feedburner, there are many toys over there. Adapting them for wordpress.COM was a bit tricky, but we managed to figure it out!

    thanks for all of your tips, glad you’re back!

  2. you said: You see, blog post footers are a recent fascination of mine and I haven’t prepared one as yet. Why don’t you do me a favour? Please share with me your thoughts on must-have footer items for blog posts.

    I’ve changed multiple times and I’m sure I will again and again as I find more toys. There’s no right or wrong, just have fun with it. I don’t know SEO and have no plans to learn it, just enjoy blogging and think about what readers might enjoy once they land on your blog! ;)

  3. hi dissfunctional,
    thanks for your kind words! :D

    i love figuring out roundabout solutions for wordpress.com. i am like a spoilt brat who has to have everything and doesn’t take “No” for an answer. like, why should i not have cool stuff just bcos it’s not havable by default?

    i saw your solutions at the forum. and i was like so jealous of your blog footer, too! looks nice and unobtrusive! well done!

  4. have fun is basically all i am doing in my blog! :mrgreen:

    blog post footers are rather cute! AND they are functional. i wouldn’t mind opting for seo, i mean if it just takes a carefully planned blog post footer to boost my seo a little (meaning, getting more readers to share my fun goodies with in the long run), then i am in!

  5. Honestly, my “signature post footer” continues to be an evolution. It was originally created to define a separation between posts on multi-post pages before WordPress.com allowed Theme customization with CSS Extras. I couldn’t tell when a post ended and another began. The site search tags were a rebellious move against WordPress.com for only including global tags and not on-site tags, which it continues to do and I continue to fight.

    I started adding site and post submission links until I realized I was only cluttering and not helping my readers. Fans of those sites have their own bookmarklet or toolbar so why should I put junk on my site that I don’t need. It’s like going to a fancy restaurant with your own picnic basket of food.

    Since that realization, I’ve been slowly shrinking down what is in the footer to the key essentials. I manually put in related posts, waiting for WordPress.com to offer that much requested feature. I’ve added feed links due to requests from my readers. The copyright statement had to be added since twits survive too freely on the web and I want to remind them that this is not theirs to abuse.

    A lot of the stuff people put below their post is clutter. Much of it can be put into the footer and sidebar, but WordPress.com does constrain what you can and can’t do.

    Don’t forget, I make the process of adding all this junk to my WordPress.com blog with the handy Tagging Bookmarklet for WordPress and WordPress.com Users. Makes this SO much easier.

  6. hello lorelle,
    it’s a pleasure to have you back!

    the site search tags are truly wicked.
    “I started adding site and post submission links until I realized I was only cluttering and not helping my readers. Fans of those sites have their own bookmarklet or toolbar so why should I put junk on my site that I don’t need. It’s like going to a fancy restaurant with your own picnic basket of food.”

    well, some people believe in the power of ads. out of sight is out of mind. the icons help remind some bloggers ( at least hypothetically) that they have to do something before leaving the post.

    a copyrigyht notice is a must-have, i agree. related posts are a very useful addition – i wish it could be done automatically!

    thanks for sharing the bookmarklet with my readers. keep it up! :D

  7. Pingback: Blog post Footer | BizMo

Comments are closed.