How to add the Facebook Like feature in a wordpress.com blog post in ONE click


Yes yes yes, it’s true! :D

Now you can add the Facebook Like feature in your wordpress.com blog posts in ONE second and in ONE cllick!

Just hop over to Facebook Like bookmarklet for wordpress.com, grab the bookmarklet and come back to this post.

How to use the bookmarklet

1. Write a new post and publish it.
:!: Do not leave your blog admin. Stay put in your VISUAL editor.

2. Click the Facebook Like bookmarklet from the Bookmarks Toolbar in your Firefox.
(It says “Facebook Like Button”)

3. Update and view the post.

4. Enjoy your new “Facebook Like” button.

5. Come back to this post and please leave a Comment!
(Writing a compliment takes less time than coding the code and writing this tutorial)

The button below was added in this technique. Why not click it and see if it works?

Share


Important information
This button does not display the number of people who Like-ed a post – the code needed to display this info does not work in wordpress.com. But the info is available when the button is clicked – the visitor is taken to a blank page that has the button. When clicked, it updates the information in real time.


:!: Learn a better trick!
How to add both “Share on Facebook” and “Facebook like” buttons easily in a wordpress.com blog post


Share on Facebook


Related posts

How to add Facebook Like to your RSS feed

How to add a “Share on Facebook” button in a wordpress.com blog post in ONE click

How to use the Facebook Recommendations plugin in wordpress.com

how to display Twitter counts in a wordpress.com blog post

How to add an “Email a friend” button in a wordpress.com blog in ONE click!

How to add Addthis in a wordpress.com blog post in ONE click

Any Social Bookmarking for wordpress.com

96 thoughts on “How to add the Facebook Like feature in a wordpress.com blog post in ONE click

  1. Wow, thanks so much for sharing this! I’ve already saved the bookmarklet and needless to say, will be using it on all my posts :)

  2. You are very very welcome! :D
    I am so glad it is useful!! It makes the time, energy and back pain spent coding it totally worth it.

  3. Please don’t reblog the whole post (even if you translate it first, it’s so wrong!) like you did one of my posts here – http://bit.ly/8ZwhfO . Click the wordpress Reblog button to Reblog this post, that will automatically create a link to my post. Also you can translate my post in Indonesian and put a link to that translated version for your readers to read.

    And oh, don’t “Master” me. I am trying to learn things as much as any curious and smart human being and I am far from being a “Master”.

  4. For some reason, it just doesn’t work for me. The instructions are simple enough to follow. I have the “Facebook Like Button” on my Firefox 3.6.6. I tested this on an existing blog that didn’t have the FB button .. while in visual editor, pressing the “Facebook Like Button” bookmarklet does nothing. I performed (2) and (3) and nothing happens. (4) doesn’t show .. no new code is added when I hit Update.

    • Thanks for pointing this out – I had no idea and hadn’t expected the button to be published at the bottom of the post. It works great and what a difference automation makes to the WP experience now. Only thing, how can I make the button to appear at the very top of the post, above everything else that’s there including [tweetmeme] entry?

  5. To do that, you have to write the post title first and then click “Save draft”. Then the url for your post will be created specific for that post. Now click the bookmarklet and the button will be in your blog post. Because there is nothing in the blog post the button will be “on top”. When you first start writing the post, please switch to the HTML Editor and start from there – this will ensure that somehow your writing doesn’t start somewhere in the middle of the button code. After you write even one word you can switch to the VISUAL editor for comfort.

    I am glad you like the automation! :D

  6. Roger that. I was under the impression that it’s position is somehow dictated by a parameter in the bookmarklet. Moving it from the bottom to the top is effortless and not as involved as the manual method of inserting the entire URL into the code. I can live with this. The automation has already cut down the steps otherwise required for the same effect. Thanks again!

  7. just found this now – excellent work :) Will be using it in all my posts.
    Actually, while looking around, I also noticed that when I’m publishing a post I can also publish it directly to facebook, which is handy too.

  8. Brilliant, easy. And it works if you are using Google Chrome rather than Firefox.

    Many thanks.

    Tilla

  9. Hi

    Can the script be formatted to exclude the “« SHIMWORLD” in the following Like? Seems redundant since it’s the post title that grabs reader’s attention as the full site url is already mentioned.

    “Jan likes BOTTLED WATER NEVER LOOKED THIS GOOD! « SHIMWORLD on shimworld.wordpress.com.”

    I’m hoping it’s just a matter of removing a field in the button script.

  10. There is a << sign before SHIMWORLD. Shimworld is the title of your blog. The script is showing the title of your blog – which seems good and it is not a repetition. Site title and site url are not the same. Mt site title is Netty gritty, so the fact that the script show blog title helps blogs like me who have a different blog title.

    If you don't like it, I will try to remove it in a version. But I don't know if I can do it.

  11. I just wanted to say this is the best bookmarkelet I have EVER used, and I have used a few in the past. This is the easiest I have ever used, and I’ll be posting an entry on my blog pointing to this one.

    Great work!

  12. This is most excellent.

    One question. I tested this out and it works fine. When the FB user likes my post it put a “johnny likes [postname] @ [blogname]

    Is there a way to have it display the domain name that I have forwarded to my WP blog as opposed to the actual WP url?

  13. Hello Rick,
    Thanks for trying the code and thanks for your comment. :D
    About your query, well, even if there is one, I don’t know how to do it. :(
    Sorry!

  14. @lenguaslenguas,
    Thanks much! :D
    If there’s anything else you would like to add in your blog post, why not make suggestions? I will try to code it!

  15. Hello :)
    Thank you very much for this wonderful post. If I am using internet explorer 8 or Google Chrome, how do I find the Facebook Like button?
    Thanks in advance and best regards.
    Zeina :)

    • For most browsers (Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari, Opera):

      1. Drag the bookmarklet to your Bookmarks Toolbar

      For Internet Explorer:

      1. Make sure your “Links Toolbar” is visible. If it is not, right click on any part of the menu bar and make sure Links (or Favorites Bar) is checked.
      2. Right-click on the bookmarklet and click Add to Favorites.
      3. If a warning appears, click Yes (this is safe, of course).
      4. Be sure to save the Favorite in your “Links” (or “Favorites Bar”) folder so that it appears in your Links Toolbar.

  16. Hello – thanks for sharing – just checking if this is against the FB terms and conditions (to display an image that opens a URL instead of using their functionality). I need to do the same thing and was wondering how they view it?

    • psychedeliic,
      Thanks for your valuable comment. It takes two clicks if you count the click for “Bookmarks Toolbar” before clicking the actual Bookmarklet. Anyway, the argument about which clicks should be counted is a very silly one.

      It opens in a new page because the code needed to make it work in the same page didn’t work back then. Now you have the new wordpress.com sharing options, why not try that? It takes no clicks once you set up the services.

    • Same for me!

      Does anyone have another script/code (or solution) where a new tab is NOT open when you click the like button? Would love that!

  17. thank you guys, it works great. i dont understand how, but it does. Great feature, allows people to show in their FB newsfeed they liked a particular post, not just the whole site. Thanks.

  18. this is great, but for some reason when I click on the actual like icon of my page it keeps saying ‘error” and doesn’t go through. Ideas?

    • You can, but only if you are logged in to Facebook and then click the FB Like button, then it shows your friends’ avatars. Won’t reveal strangers though!

    • I have no idea what went wrong. You can try the new sharing option (I have given the link above) . The Facebook Like button put in that method is easy, but you won’t ever get stats or see who liked your post. Just stating the differences…

  19. I’ve tried to get the likebutton on my wordpress.com blog now for hours, I use safari, is there a similar bookmarks thing on safari?

  20. Thanks mate, not only was it great to to have the like option, but it was so simple to implement due to your tutorial, I’m going to try the Facebook Share version now too!

  21. Not working! Comes up with Error, the explanation being: ‘You must specify a URL as part of this widget or API.’ Help!

  22. Hi:

    This is a cool tool. But when I added it, it is opening another link and users had to click on the “Like” button once again. Any work around for this?

  23. Clicking on the “like” button on your post takes me to another page with just like button on the page and there it can be clicked….
    Is there a way to make it work in a manner so that it doesn’t redirect to other page?

  24. Thank you very much for the share.
    One question – can this be applied to multiple posts to make it easier – at the moment, I’m manually editing existing ones which I don’t mind doing but wanted to ask if its possilble the other way.

  25. Pingback: Borrador de Botón like a mano 1 « Marcha Popular Indignada Gran Canaria

  26. Pingback: ‘facebook like’ button & free wordpress, the drama « chocolate …. just bite!

  27. Thank you/Gracias/Merci for this tip. I’m working on a new blog but I’m not used to WordPress – this info though is nice and easy to implement which is a relief.
    Peace

  28. Thanks so much for the info!

    And thanks also for thanking me! If you need help on anything else regarding wordpress.com, and if you want me to give it a try, then just ask! :D

Comments are closed.